Lebanese International University

Websitevisit website
International Office
Erasmus Code
Erasmus Charta

Brief description

The Lebanese International University was established in April, 2001, as “The Bekaa University” under Presidential Decree No.5294 as, with its grand campus constructed within the western region of the Beqaa Valley; at Al-Khyara, the West Beqaa (al-Beqaa al-Gharbi).

Having graduated its first Freshman class in June 2002, with a vision of becoming a true national university with international presence, a new campus in Beirut was opened and the name was changed to “Lebanese International University”, or LIU in short. Another five campuses were later built: next to Sidon in south Lebanon, Tyr, Nabatieh, Tripoli and Mount Lebanon.

LIU created buildings in Aden, Sana’a and Taiz in Yemen as well as two additional campuses in Mauritania and Senegal.